

301 S. Bronough Street, Suite 300 ● Post Office Box 1757 ● Tallahassee, FL 32302-1757 (850) 222-9684 ● Fax: (850) 222-3806 ● Website: *www.flcities.com*

Florida League of Cities Announces 2018-2019 Legislative Policy Committee Appointments

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 7, 2018

CONTACT: Brittni Johnsen

bjohnsen@flcities.com or (850) 701-3652

The Florida League of Cities announced appointments for its 2018-2019 legislative policy committees. Each committee focuses on a specific area of interest to Florida's cities.

"Municipal officials are the driving force behind the League's legislative success. In addition to setting the legislative priorities, the League's policy committee members help to provide League staff with a better understanding of the real-world implications of proposed legislation," said Florida League of Cities Legislative Director Scott Dudley. "We appreciate their willingness to serve, as there is a significant commitment of time and energy that goes into developing a policy direction for our legislative efforts."

Legislative policy committee chairs, vice-chairs and members are appointed annually by the League's president, who is currently Leo E. Longworth, mayor of the City of Bartow. Any city official is eligible to serve on a policy committee, and appointments are typically based upon a city official's support and advocacy of the League's adopted Legislative Action Agenda, participation at meetings, Legislative Action Day and other legislative-related activities.

The Federal Action Strike Team (FAST) is responsible for advocating the League's federal priorities to the Florida Congressional delegation. The Advocacy Committee works to build relationships with legislators and communicates key municipal issues to the Florida legislature.

The chairs and vice chairs for each of the 2018-2019 Legislative Policy Committees are:

Finance, Taxation and Personnel

Chair: Mayor Bill Partington, City of Ormond Beach

Vice Chair: President Pro-Tem Paul R. Shalhoub, Town of Lake Clarke Shores

Land Use and Economic Development

Chair: Mayor Kathy Meehan, City of Melbourne

Vice Chair: Councilwoman Jolien Caraballo, City of Port St. Lucie

Municipal Administration

Chair: Councilmember Cal Rolfson, City of Mount Dora Vice Chair: Commissioner Jamie Robinson, City of Largo

Transportation and Intergovernmental Relations

Chair: Mayor Hazelle Rogers, City of Lauderdale Lakes

Vice Chair: Councilman Elvis R. Maldonado, City of Homestead

Utilities, Natural Resources and Public Works

Chair: Councilmember Helen Miller, City of White Springs Vice Chair: Mayor Rachel Keesling, City of Punta Gorda

For more information on the Florida League's legislative policy development process and complete lists of committee members, please visit <u>floridaleagueofcities.com/advocacy/policy-committees</u>.

###

Founded in 1922, the Florida League of Cities is the united voice for Florida's municipal governments. Its goals are to promote local self-government and serve the needs of Florida's cities. Florida's cities are formed by their citizens and governed by their citizens. The League is founded on the belief that local self-government is the keystone of American democracy. For more information, visit <u>floridaleagueofcities.com</u>.